mostlynoise

noise5

A blog following my musical activities

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Joseph Brown

October 4, 2013

I. Issue
Over Consumption
Many items that we use day to day are useful often used once then they are thrown away. Plastic water bottles are a big waste item that become a large waste item.
II. Inspiration
I go through a large amount of water bottles a week.
I want to start to cut back on using these wasted items.
III. Design
I collected most of the plastic bottles and aluminum cans that I used over the course of a week.
The bike rim would have many recyclables tied to it an ia circular shape. The bottles would have many office consumables inside as rattles.
IV. Metaphor
Collecting these consumables for a week showed me how much I use these products and how wasteful I am.
I wanted a wheel of some sort to represent a circle like the recycling symbol. Also, I tied the plastic bottles in a circle. People use a large amount of plastic items, office supplies, cans, etc. They are considered consumable items and usually are not disposed of properly. My chime is meant to be a metaphor to recycle more and dispose of things properly. Collecting these consumables for a week showed me how much I use these products and how wasteful I am.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

