mostlynoise

noise5

A blog following my musical activities

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

One Hundred Thousand Views on YouTube and Some Thoughts On Public Sharing

October 21, 2011 , , , , , , , , , ,

We crossed the 100K views threshold today!

This afternoon, the ticker on the front of our YouTube page rolled over one-hundred thousand views. While our aggregate-views pale in comparison to any internet meme, I am proud of this milestone. As a resource for my students, a portfolio of work, and curriculum diary, using this service has brought rewards far exceeding any expectations I had when I launched the channel.

By sharing our work with the world, I have begun building a supportive community both on campus and internationally. Students share the videos and audio clips with family around the world over this channel. Successive generations of students share their work with future cubs contributing to our own institutional knowledge. Artists and educators all over the world have offered support, advice, and information about our projects.

This philosophy of sharing has extended into a greater notion of digital citizenship. When we create material in class, my students license them with Creative Commons and post them in the world for others to share. Many of our projects are made possible by the generosity of Open-Source programmers, musicians that share via Soundcloud, or VJ’s giving away their work on the Internet Archive.

When I use someone’s Creative Commons material, I often share what I created with the originator. This has led to other opportunities for both of us. For example, I used some dandelion stop-motion animations to accompany a piano recording of music by John Cage I made. I shared it with the video creator. He enjoyed the work, told me he was inspired to continue posting his work on Archive.org, and is using my video to promote a VJ project in a local chamber music festival.

The free-sharing of ideas and work via social networks has evolved into a way of life. Now, I document all of my students’ work, I have learned many sophisticated pieces of software to create digital media, and in the process, become more media-aware and critical in what I view, hear, read, and create.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Congratulation! Well done. And the best of all :

It is licensed under Creative Commons.

I really do not understand why colleagues at universities seldom follow your example.

Hajo

October 22, 2011

Thank you so much! I do hope to encourage many more to share freely. It has worked for us, even at our small-scale.

sspeciale

October 22, 2011

