mostlynoise

noise5

A blog following my musical activities

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Recording Sounds

February 18, 2011


Today, we hooked up our piezo mics to all kinds of instruments and objects including Indonesian frog-callers, toy accordion, bajo, cajon, toy piano, kalimba, and sleigh bells.

Before turning them loose, I demonstrated the recording process. As a “light at the end of the tunnel”, I created a modified loop and played it in GarageBand.

First, I showed them how to tape the microphone wire onto the side of the instrument to relieve stress on the small lead wires and solder joints.

After plugging into the computer, I demonstrated how to set the proper sample size, bit rate, and file types in the preferences pane. As a reference, we recorded as AIFF, 44,100, and 16-bit. I did this to facilitate assembling projects in GarageBand.

I checked the input levels with a sample recording, then recorded about 10 seconds of improv. I did a quick edit, counted off eight beats, then applied some effects. I added a wet phaser and reversed the clip. I exported the loop into the Apple Loops Utility, added metatags on the transients, and exported that into GarageBand.

Because of the metatags, I could now manipulate the loop in GarageBand. I demonstrated how to sync it with other pre-fab loops and create a simple piece. This whole process took me about 7 minutes. The remainder of the time was spent with the students working in groups to build a small library of recorded sounds from which they will learn to create loops, and eventually, compose a piece.

I should mention that I teach them to use Audacity so we have an open-source-cross-platform tool students can use at home, either for homework, or hopefully, their own projects. In the absence of one-to-one, this helps level out the technological playing field.

Next week, we will continue collecting sounds, before I teach them how to edit and place metatags into the files.


– Posted from my phone. Go to my webhub at:
flavors.me/sspeciale

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

